Paddy McCardle always good for a chat
Charlevile, Co Cork , Ireland
Charlevilleis a truly outstanding town. Undiscovered by many visitors from abroad and other parts of Ireland. You can unwrap the secrets of Charleville by taking a short break with us, at any time of the year. Charleville, and its environs, boast a wide range of truly original visitor attractions. With man fantastic shopping opportunities: unique retail outlets with traditional customer service values. This service ethos extends to its superb range of guest houses and restaurants and bars: extending from friendly family-oriented establishments, to something a little more special.
Charleville is located on the national primary route the N20 on the main corridor between Cork and Limerick cities in the fertile plain of the Golden Vale which stretches west to the Shannon river and east to Cashel in Co. Tipperary.
Driving time to Dublin (211km) is 2.45 hours; Cork (62km) is presently 40 minutes and this will be further reduced when the Buttevant by-pass is completed.
Driving time to Limerick (38km) is 25 minutes.Driving time to Killarney (96km) is 60 minutes.Cork and Shannon and Farranfore airports and the sea ports of Cork;
Limerick and Foynes are well within a 60 minute drive of Charleville.
Charleville has an excellent train service daily to Dublin; Cork and Tralee from a modern train station. The service to Cork has recently been greatly improved, with an early morning service making it feasible to commute to Cork for work purposes.There is also an excellent daily bus service to and from Cork and Limerick cities, with buses departing every hour in each direction during peak times.
History of the Town
Charleville is situated on the north eastern slopes of the extension of a ridge known in Ancient Ireland as Drom Iomnacht .
A North Cork town on the main road 23 miles from Limerick and 37 miles from Cork. Charleville was founded in 1661 by Roger Boyle , better known as Lord Broghill . He named the town after King Charles 11 of England . The borough of Charleville was granted a Royal Charter in 1670 and returned two members to the British Parliament . Lord Broghill set up manufactories of linen and woolen clothes and all other good trades . He supplied artists , looms and all sorts of instruments . He died in 1679 .
In 1690 the Duke of Berwick on returning from the Siege of Limerick burned to the ground Charleville Mansion , the residence of Lord Broghill and thus ended the Boyle connection with Charleville .
1769 A market house was built corner of Broad Street , which is now used as the Courthouse .
1791 The first Bianconi coach came to Charleville .
1807 There were two Inns in Charleville namely The Duke of York and The Military Hotel
1812 The Catholic Church was built in Chapel Street ( Parochial Hall)
1821 Charleville to Newmarket Road cut
1831 The Charleville via Croom Limerick Road was cut .
1836 The Sisters of Mercy first came to Charleville . The order still exists here .
1843 Daniel O ' Connell " The Liberator " spoke at a monster meeting in the town
1844 Robert Browne , Bishop of Cloyne , born here
1849 The first steam train arrived in Charleville .
1849 Father Croke was a curate here ( Archbishop Croke )
1854 The Charleville Fever Hospital closed .
1870 Houses on the Main Street converted from thatch to slate